College News

Lee Golf Classic a winner for CCCC Foundation

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,  The team sponsored by The Normann Financial Group won first flight first-place honors in the CCCC Foundation Lee Golf Classic. Members of the team were Miller Robins, Murphy Paderick, Grant Brown, and Chad Day.

click image to enlarge ⊗

The team sponsored by The Normann Financial Group won first flight first-place honors in the CCCC ... (more)

10.02.2020College & CommunityCollege GeneralFoundation

SANFORD - Since 1989, area golfers have been hitting the links at the Central Carolina Community College Foundation's annual Lee Golf Classic to financially assist students at the college.

The 31st Annual Golf Classic concluded Sept. 30 at the Sanford Golf Course. This was the session of the tournament that was postponed due to rain on Sept. 9.

The Golf Classic enables the Foundation to award scholarships and other financial assistance to students.

Winners and team scores were:

First Flight:

First place - 55 -- Sponsored by The Normann Financial Group -- Miller Robins, Murphy Paderick, Grant Brown, Chad Day (Won tiebreaker with 27 on the back 9).

Second place - 55 -- Sponsored by Post, Foushee, Patton Trial Lawyers -- Justin Jarrett, Gabriel Osborne, Lee Bass, Jack Wredburg. (28 on the back 9).

Third place - 56 -- Sponsored by Heritage Concrete -- Cliff Stephens, Jimmy Martin, Robin Perkins, Dave Glabicki (Won tiebreaker with 27 on the back 9).

Second Flight:

First place - 60 -- Sponsored by P.R. Faulk Electric Co. -- Phillip Faulk, Frank Layton, Marvin Johnson, Gene Wright (Won tiebreaker with 29 on the back 9).

Second place - 60 -- Sponsored by Lee-Moore Capital -- Grant Smith, Kent Johnson, John Perkins, Mike Cox (Won tiebreaker with a 30 on the back 9).

Third place - 60 -- Sponsored by Dr. George Grant -- George Grant, Mark Spivey, Woody Scott, Charles Broadwell (31 on the back 9).

Closest to the Pin winners were Patrick Pettite, Jack Wredberg, Murphy Paderick, and Jimmy Martin. Long Drive winner was Christopher Woodell. Putting Contest winner was Collin Peregoy.

Members of the golf committee include: Trey Williams (Tournament Chairman), Mikeal Basinger, Christian Davenport, Emily Hare, Jon Hockaday, Tom Joyner, Chas Post, Bobby Powell, John Ramsberger, and Lynda Turbeville,

Platinum Sponsors were Dr. Steve Carter; First Bank-Sanford; Dr. T. Eston "Bud" Marchant; The Normann Financial Group; Julian and Cynthia Philpott; and Post, Patton & Foushee - Trial Lawyers.

Gold Sponsors were BB&T-Sanford; Central Carolina Hospital; The Chapman Family; Chatham Park; Farm Bureau-Lee County; PR Faulk Electrical Company; First Bank Insurance Services; First Citizens Bank-Sanford; First Choice Home Health Care; Dr. George Grant; Heritage Concrete; Hobbs Architects; Holmes Oil Company; Ted and Peggy Lanier; Jamey Laudate for Lee County Board of Education; Lee-Moore Capital Company; George Lucier, Ph.D.; Bobby and Linda Powell; Sanford Area Growth Alliance; Sanford Contractors; Sanford Dermatology; and John Sauls for NC House.

Silver Sponsors were Cargo Control USA; CMG Financial; Dogwood State Bank; Elite Storage/Central Moving and Storage; Phil and Genease Fields; James and Gloria French; Sam Gaskins and Lynda Turbeville; Hayes Group Consulting, LLC; Dr. J.F. Hockaday; Irrigation Services; J&G Machinery, Inc.; Jones Printing Company; John Kirkman for NC Senate; Tom and Shirley Joyner; Mertek Solutions; Sanford Real Estate; Sanford Steel Corporation; Cameron Sharpe for Lee County Commissioner; The Shed Depot; Wayne Staton; Sweet Southern Home Design; Tree Frog Properties - Jamie Kelly; Ward & Foust, CPA's; Wilson & Reives, PLLC; and WWGP/WFJA.

Pepsi Bottling Ventures provided drinks; Wilkinson Cadillac Chevrolet Buick GMC provided the Hole in One contest; and Quick Bites provided lunch.

The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization affiliated with, but independent of, the college. It receives donations of money and equipment on behalf of CCCC and uses them to promote the educational mission of the college and assist students through scholarships and grants. For information on giving to the Foundation or its fund-raising events, contact Dr. Emily Hare, Executive Director of the CCCC Foundation, 919-718-7230, or