College News

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,  Dylan Hargis (left) is recipient of Central Carolina Community College's Larry Talton Excellence in Business Award. Presenting the award to Hargis is Michael Fann, CCCC Business Technologies - Lead Instructor.

click image to enlarge ⊗

Dylan Hargis (left) is recipient of Central Carolina Community College's Larry Talton Excellence in ... (more)

05.24.2018College & CommunityCollege GeneralStudents/Graduates

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College honored nearly 100 outstanding students May 2 at its Annual Academic Excellence Awards program at the Mann Center in Sanford.

Instructors selected the students who were recognized for academic excellence or for overall outstanding achievement.

Seth Kuenzler, of Lee County, was recognized as the CCCC recipient of the North Carolina Community College System's "Great Within the 58" Academic Excellence Award. Only one student from each of the state's 58 community colleges is selected for the award each year.

Gladys Alvarez, of Lee County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Dallas Herring Achievement Award. Nickolas Jorgenson, of Illinois, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award.

All those honored at the Academic Excellence Award program, listed by county of residence, award, and the program for which they received it were:

Alamance County

Outstanding Student Award: Ashley Byrd, Office Administration.

Chatham County

Academic Excellence Awards: Pamela Alejandra Lopez Ulloa, Associate in Arts; Tristan Marquise, Associate of Science; Laura Maule, Sustainable Agriculture; Trent Mitchell, Information Technology-General; Nicholas Shanahan, Spanish; David Smith, Associate of Engineering; Henry Van Gils, Associate of Science.

Outstanding Student Awards: Lainee Cummings, Practical Nursing; Matthew Ford, Math; Jeffrey Glosson, Automotive Systems Technology; Katherine Horton, Health Information Technology; Yolanda McKoy, Human Services Technology; Kenneth Norbec, Adult High School; Oscar O'Campo, Adult High School; Lily Parsons, Associate in Arts; Elizabeth Plata, Business Administration; Nicholas Smith, Computer Engineering Technology; Corey Smith, Criminal Justice Technology-Latent Evidence; Lyle Wesner, Sustainable Technologies.

Cumberland County

Academic Excellence Awards: Yeida Casais, General Occupation Tech/Pre-Nursing; Yeida Casais, Biological Sciences; Emily Russell, Human Services Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Boris Ferguson, Medical Assisting; Stephen Green, Motorcycle Mechanics; Emily Russell, Psychology.

Durham County

Outstanding Student Award: Dena Jackson, Business Administration/HR.

Harnett County

Academic Excellence Awards: Asia Bedetti, Dental Assisting; Ashley Hatton, Physical Sciences; Erik Henriksen, Culinary Arts; Rosemary Hilliard, Medical Assisting; Jennifer Womble, Healthcare Management.

Outstanding Student Awards: Anthony Bond, Computer Engineering Technology; Lesly Delgado, Associate of Arts; Jenna Johnston, Associate Degree Nursing; Airon Langle, High School Equivalency; Laquitta Lockhart, Adult High School; Chester Pope, Associate in Arts; Michelle Riley, Health & Fitness Science; Jeffrey Ryals, English; Melissa Smith, Medical Assisting; Morgan Tanner, Associate Degree Nursing; Crystal Williams, Criminal Justice Technology.

Johnston County

Larry Talton Excellence in Business Award: Dylan Hargis.

Academic Excellence Award: Sydney Thornton, Paralegal Technology.

Lee County

Dallas Herring Achievement Award: Gladys Alvarez.

Cary C. Todd Award for Mathematics Excellence: Frank Roth Ewens, Jaideep Ramani.

Great in the 58 Award: Seth Kuenzler.

Academic Excellence Awards: Gazal Alowdi, Associate of Science; Gladys Alvarez, History; Gladys Alvarez, Associate of Arts; Brian Bendana, Veterinary Medical Technology; Danny Collins, Welding Technology; Madison Cottrell, Chinese; Esmeralda Guzman, Information Technology-General; Clare Hayes, English; Lacey Kuenzler, Health Information Technology; Jennifer May, Industrial Systems Technology; George Perez, Information Technology-Network Management; Kayla Put, Early Childhood Education; Lisa Ryan, Accounting; Nicole Thompson, Accounting; Cindy Vorholt, Paralegal Technology; Patricia Williams, Criminal Justice Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Sobhi Alowdi, Associate of Engineering; Crystal Cope, Cosmetology; Lucy Dubiel, Culinary Arts; Jasper Garner, Sustainable Technologies; Brooke Godfrey, Dental Hygiene; Nicholas Johnson, Electronics Engineering Technology; Christa-Linn Jones, Healthcare Management; Seth Kuenzler, Laser and Photonics Technology; Thomas Lanier, Electronics Engineering Technology; Ethelene Lee, Early Childhood Education; Amanda Miller, Medical Office Administration; Jordan Norris, Information Technology-Network Management; Dean Relkin-Perez, Computer-Aided Drafting Technology; Barbara Riley, Business Administration/HR; Patrick Scott, Industrial Systems Technology; Tyeisha Snipes, Health & Fitness Science; Robert Wells, Sustainable Agriculture; Meredith Witherspoon, Medical Assisting.

Moore County

Academic Excellence Awards: Erica Hilary, Cosmetology; Monica Parman, Dental Hygiene.

Outstanding Student Awards: Cody Artman, Welding Technology; Patrick Graham, Broadcast Production Technology; Brianna New, Veterinary Medical Technology.

Orange County

Academic Excellence Award: Sreedevi Sreekumarranmathi, Medical Assisting.

Outstanding Student Award: Pouran Moavenzadeh, Sociology.

Wake County

Academic Excellence Awards: Andrew Clark, Business Administration; Austin Machak, Broadcast Production Technology; Cori Rogers, Medical Assisting.

Outstanding Student Awards: Astrid Pena, Dental Assisting.


Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award: Nickolas Jorgenson.

Academic Excellence Award: Nickolas Jorgenson.

Pictures of Academic Excellence Award recipients can be downloaded at the college's website,