College News

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Click to enlarge Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College student Leela Rao (left), of Lee County, receives her Student Ambassador ... (more)

Click to enlarge Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College student Michael Sowers, of Lee County, receives the Larry Talton ... (more)

Click to enlarge Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

click to enlarge ⊗

Dr. Stuart Fountain (left), of the N.C. State Board of Community Colleges, presents the N.C. Community ... (more)

Click to enlarge Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College student Amanda Eury (left), of Harnett County, receives a hug from ... (more)

05.12.2014College & CommunityCollege GeneralGraduations

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College honored 76 outstanding graduating students May 7 at its 19th Annual Academic Excellence Awards program at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Instructors selected the students who were recognized for academic excellence or for overall outstanding achievement. Students were also honored for service as college Student Ambassadors, Scholar Athletes and other achievements.

Scott Butcher, of Chatham County, was recognized as the CCCC recipient of the North Carolina Community College System's "Great Within the 58" Academic Excellence Award. Only one student from each of the state's 58 community colleges is selected for the award each year. Dr. Stuart Fountain, of the State Board of Community Colleges presented the award certificate and medallion to Butcher.

Amanda Eury, of Harnett County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Governor Robert W. Scott Leadership Award. Eury was also recognized for her service as a student Ambassador.

Joseph Price, of Harnett County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Dallas Herring Achievement Award.

All those honored at the Academic Excellence Award program, listed by county of residence, award and the program for which they received it were:

Chatham County

NCCCS Great Within the 58 and Student Ambassador: Scott Butcher;

Academic Excellence Award: Nicole Harford - Adult High School, Kassandra Ofray - Associate of Science University Transfer, Nicholas "Hank" Snouwaert - Computer Engineering Technology, Christopher Bushek - Culinary Arts, Lacey Cook - GED, Scott Butcher - Industrial Systems Technology and Bio Maintenance Technology, Lawson Hawkins - Mechanical Engineering Technology, Tasha Dickerson - Nursing Assistant II, Carol Lowndes - Sustainability Technologies, and Aaron Jason Butler - Sustainable Agriculture;

Outstanding Student Award: Lauren Moody - Computer Information Technology and Nicholas "Hank" Snouwaert -Electronics Engineering Technology.

Harnett County

NCCCS Dallas Herring Achievement Award nominee: Joseph Price;

Student Ambassador Award: Amanda Eury, Koren Hailey and Travis Sholder;

Academic Excellence Award: Virginia Osborne - Adult High School, Vanessa Cox - Barbering, Jamie Fitzgerald - Culinary Arts, Margaret Gietzen - GED, Patricia Pendleton - Human Services Technology, Steven Coulbourne - Laser and Photonics Technology, Sagar Patel - Laser and Photonics Technology, Kathy Croce - Medical Office Administration, and Adrien Ennis - Phlebotomy Technician;

Outstanding Student Award: Kimlee Porrazzo - Business Administration.

Lee County

Cary C. Todd Award for Mathematics Excellence: Colleen Britt;

Larry Talton Excellence in Business Award: Michael Sowers:

Student Ambassador Award - Mary Cooper, Joseph Dwyer, Leela Rao, Holly Sears, Kristen Shreiner, and Hamlet Valladares;

Academic Excellence Award: Cindy Smith - Accounting, Gloria Marcela Hernandez Matute - Biology and General Chemistry, Teresa Estrada - Broadcasting Production Technology, Guadalupe Norato - Business Administration, Ryan Belk - Computer Information Technology, Candace Ramroth - Dental Assisting, Cynthia Leslie - Dental Hygiene, Nathalia Cruz - English, Joshua Thomas - English, Noelle Barber - General Anatomy and Physiology, Ariane Smith - Spanish and History, Gail Brown - Human Resources Management, Holly Sears - Industrial Systems Technology, Amber Markham - Medical Assisting, Doreen Kelly - Nurse Aid I, Alejandro Loredo Sarmiento - Physics, and Peter Hall - School-age Education;

Outstanding Student Award: Chynna Lancaster - Accounting, Lauren Taylor -Dental Assisting, Andrea Hyatt - Dental Hygiene, Magali Alvarado - History, Heidi Hase -Human Services Technology, Robert "Alex" Bridges - Mechanical Engineering Technology, Melissa Buchanan - Medical Assisting, Yolanda Taylor-Leach - Medical Office Technology, Thomas Hartzel - Motorcycle Mechanics, Charles Petty - Public Speaking, Estrella Rodriguez - School-age Children, and Samantha Kirkpatrick - Veterinary Medical Technology;

Scholar Athlete Award - Erica Davidson and Caitlin Wallen.

Beaufort County

Academic Excellence Award: Austin Main - Motorcycle Mechanics.

Durham County

Academic Excellence Award: MacKenzie Anderson - Broadcasting Production Technology.

Iredell County

Academic Excellence Award: Karen Scovill - Veterinary Medical Technology.

Johnston County

Academic Excellence Award: Crystal Mullen - Anatomy and Physiology, and

Jennifer Barefoot - Paralegal Technology.

Moore County

Academic Excellence Award: Kody Maness - Computer Integrated Machining and Marianne Lewis - Sustainability Technologies;

Outstanding Student Award: Nicholas Johnson - Computer Integrated Machining.

Orange County

Academic Excellence Award: Cody Porter - Associate of Science University Transfer, and Lauren Hill - Sustainable Agriculture;

Outstanding Student Award: Christopher Mullen - Associate of Arts University Transfer and Cody Porter - Public Speaking.

Wake County

Outstanding Student Award: Timothy Carroll - Barbering, and Landis Johnson - Developmental Math.

Pictures of all Academic Excellence Award recipients can be downloaded at the college's website, For more information about Central Carolina Community College, visit or download its mobile app at Apple Store or Google Play.