College News

Phi Theta Kappa inducts 33 CCCC students

Click to enlarge Phi Theta Kappa inducts 33 CCCC students

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College's Beta Sigma Phi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor ... (more)

03.15.2013Curriculum ProgramsSpecial EventsStudents/Graduates

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College's Beta Sigma Phi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 33 new members during a ceremony held March 14 in the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges and the largest honor society in American higher education. It has more than two million members and more than 1,200 chapters in the United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

"Phi Theta Kappa is important because it broadens students' horizons," said Chapter President Jonathan Stubbs, of Chatham County. "It provides opportunities for the students to serve their communities and the college, as well as to take leadership roles in the organization."

To qualify for membership, students must have completed 12 semester hours of associate degree coursework with a grade point average of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale. CCCC's 3.7 GPA is a higher standard for membership eligibility than the national organization, which requires a 3.5 GPA. CCCC members must maintain a GPA of at least 3.5 and must adhere to the Student Code of Conduct.

"Phi Theta Kappa represents excellence in education and these students have demonstrated those values," said Julian Philpott, chair of the college's board of trustees. "As a college, we are very proud of them."

Shirley Rijkse, director of Special Projects and Careers at LCI, Inc., was the guest speaker for the program. Rijkse graduated from CCCC in 2011. While at the college, she was a charter member of the Beta Sigma Phi chapter, served as a college Ambassador, and was active in the Phi Beta Lambda business student association. She received two first place awards at that organization's National Leadership Conference.

Rijkse shared a story of qualities that can guide the students' lives - qualities learned from a pencil: remember there is a hand guiding you; being sharpened, though it may be painful, makes you better; correct your mistakes; what is inside is more important than the outside; and, always leave a mark.

"All the things we do have a lasting effect on others and the world around us," Rijkse said. "Make your mark count."

She then quoted Harriet Tubman, African-American abolitionist and humanitarian, "Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars, to change the world."

Mike Neal, CCCC director of Student Activities and chapter co-advisor, lit a large candle symbolizing knowledge as the servant of wisdom. He then explained the Phi Theta Kappa name: Greek words symbolizing wisdom, aspiration and purity. Co-advisor Mark Hall, CCCC Humanities Department lead instructor, laid a white rose on a table. The rose symbolized purity, beauty of life, and intellectual associations.

All of the inductees held lit candles as they took the oath of membership, promising to uphold the standards of Phi Theta Kappa.

"Phi Theta Kappa encourages academic achievement and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming," said Hall. "The chapter's activities and projects give its members a space and a process to address needs they see in our communities. In this way, Phi Theta Kappa is a catalyst for its members' ideas and interests."

Central Carolina Community College's spring semester PTK Beta Sigma Phi Chapter inductees are Jolene Chaney, Mary Cooper, Debbie Frizzelle, Charles Goodwin, Kaitlyn Hejny, Kiaundra Jones, William Kay, Brian Kedzierski, Allison Martinez, Geena Meeker, Kimberly Platt, Dara Scotton, Kristen Shreiner, and Carol Thompson, all of Lee County; Stephanie Damery, Natasha Casanova, Joseph Dwyer, and Kathy Croce, all of Harnett County; Hannah Lawrence, Onica Smith and Anthony Hinz, all of Chatham County; Aynsley McCash, Charonda Shelvin, Keisha Lucas and Michael Nelson, all of Cumberland County; Kristan Osoria and John Kizis, both of Johnston County; Crystal Knighton and Leela Rao, both of Wake County; Karen Scovill, of Iredell County ; Jennifer Austin, of Alamance County; Nathan Guinn, of Orange County; and Hannah Smith, of Guilford County.

Officers for the spring semester are: President Jonathan Stubbs, Chatham County Vice President DeAnn Trevathan, Lee County Vice President Seth Tom, Harnett County Vice President Koren Hailey, treasurer Kimberly Guin, Public Relations secretary Elizabeth George, and Recording Secretary Zachary White.

For more information about PTK's Beta Sigma Phi Chapter, visit and click on the A-Z index for Phi Theta Kappa, or contact Mark Hall, or 919-781-7422.