College News

CCCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 29

Click to enlarge CCCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 29

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College inducted 29 students into its Beta Sigma Phi chapter of the Phi ... (more)

11.14.2012Special EventsStudents/Graduates

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College's Beta Sigma Phi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its fall 2012 induction ceremony for 29 new members Nov. 8 in the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges and the largest honor society in American higher education. It has more than two million members and more than 1,200 chapters in the United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

"Students gain so much from membership in Phi Theta Kappa," said Chapter President Jonathan Stubbs, of Pittsboro, a Communications Information Technology student. "They learn how to lead, work with others, do charity work, and fellowship with others with similar commitment. Membership says that one is not only a good student but has been welcomed into an international honor society. It looks good on a resume."

To qualify for membership, students must have completed 12 semester hours of associate degree coursework and must adhere to the Student Code of Conduct. They must also have achieved a grade point average of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale and maintain a GPA of at least 3.5. CCCC's 3.7 GPA is a higher standard for membership eligibility than the national organization, which requires a 3.5 GPA.

"It's nice to be honored for hard work," said inductee Tonya Jordan, an Associate in Arts student from Fuquay Varina. "I was at the college in 1997 and didn't do a good job. Now, I'm 34, married and have children, and I'm going to go to East Carolina University to become an elementary school teacher."

Jordan added that her children were at the program to see her inducted into PTK.

"One of my goals was to graduate with honors," she said with a smile. "Today, my children will see me doing the right thing."

Guest Speaker for the event was Richard Biggs, a Computer Information Technology Instructor for the college. During the induction ceremony, Mike Neal, chapter co-advisor, lit a large candle symbolizing knowledge as the servant of wisdom. He then explained the Phi Theta Kappa name: Greek words symbolizing wisdom, aspiration and purity. Mark Hall, chapter co-chair, placed a white rose on a table that symbolized purity, beauty of life, and intellectual associations.

Each inductee held a candle that was lit during the ceremony. The oath of membership was taken by all to uphold the standards of Phi Theta Kappa.

"Membership in Phi Theta Kappa recognizes the excellent academic success of CCCC's students," Hall said. "Participation in our chapter's activities develops members' leadership, service, scholarship and community. Many of our members earn scholarships through our international organization and opportunities through our alumni network. Those students who take advantage of their membership through our projects and conferences benefit exponentially both professionally and scholastically."

The fall 2012 officers, in addition to Stubbs, are Treasurer Seth Tom, of Lee County; Recording Secretary Zachary White, of Harnett County; and Public Relations Secretary Kimberly Guin, of Lee County.

Debra Bonnefond, associate director of Admissions at Meredith College, attended the induction ceremony. Meredith, located in Raleigh, is one of the largest private women's colleges in the United States.

"I'm here because we reach out to PTK members," she said. "They are good students and well-rounded. We offer a $5,000 scholarship to any PTK member that applies with 30 or more credits."

Students inducted into the college's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa were: Jane Blessing, Susana Ekis, Carla Hamilton, Christina Hill, Rhonda Ryser, DeAnn Trevathan, Michelle Troutman, and Adrianne Whitaker, all of Sanford; Victoria Brown, Joni Buzzard, Jessica Byrd, and Sally Rosales, all of Lillington; Koren Hailey and Brandon Roten, both of Angier; Tonya Jordan and Delores Yeager, both of Fuquay Varina; and Alisha Coker and Aislinn Sparkman, both of Fort Bragg.

Also inducted were: Elise Janson, of Pittsboro; Jenifer Bratchie, of Monroe; Amanda Eury, of Spring Lake; Elizabeth George, of Moncure; Stephen Glavin, of Creedmoor; Caleb Jimenez, of Fayetteville; David Summey, of Holly Springs; Janet Thorne, of Carrboro; Andrew Brusnahan, of Eden; Andrew Clark, of Raleigh; and, William Bourret, of Chapel Hill.