College News

CCCC's Loftis appointed to NC Vet Med Board

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,  Jonathan Loftis, Veterinary Medical Technology instructor/Animal Facilities manager

click image to enlarge ⊗

Jonathan Loftis, Veterinary Medical Technology instructor/Animal Facilities manager

08.16.2012Admin, Faculty & Staff

SANFORD - Jonathan Loftis, Veterinary Medical Technology instructor/Animal Facilities manager at Central Carolina Community College, has been appointed to a five-year term on the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board.

The appointment, made by N.C. House Speaker Thom Tillis, runs through June 30, 2017. Loftis fills the position previously held by Nancy Robinson, retired CCCC Vet Med Technology instructor, who served 10 years on the board.

"I am deeply honored to have been appointed to this position on the NCVMB," Loftis said. "I feel humble to have been selected and I realize that I have large shoes to fill as Nancy Robinson's replacement. Mrs. Robinson has represented the veterinary technicians of North Carolina on this board since 2001 with grace, dignity, and poise. I can only hope to perform my responsibilities half as well as she has done."

Loftis, a Cameron resident, is a registered veterinary technician. He has been a member of the North Carolina Association of Veterinary Technicians since 2002 and served as that organization's president in 2010.

He received his Associate in Applied Science in Veterinary Medical Technology from Central Carolina in 2001 and worked for N.C. State University's Large Animal Hospital for several years. He returned to the college as an instructor in 2003. In 2008, Loftis was chosen by his peers at the college as the Operational and Support Staff Employee of the Year.

The North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board is responsible for governing the practice of veterinary medicine throughout the State. The Board consists of eight members; five veterinarians appointed by the Governor, one registered veterinary technician appointed by the Speaker of the House, and one veterinarian appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the State Senate and one, by the Commissioner of Agriculture.