College News

CCCC Phi Theta Kappa earns first star

Click to enlarge CCCC Phi Theta Kappa earns first star

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College’s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society ... (more)


SANFORD — Phi Theta Kappa international honor society presented a Star Award to Central Carolina Community College’s Beta Sigma Phi Chapter at the Phi Theta Kappa Annual Carolinas Regional Convention, held March 19 in Clemmons.

The college’s chapter was established in November and received the Star Award, as well as the Best New Chapter Award, in recognition of the activity and accomplishments of its members. 

“We missed the two-star level by one requirement because we chartered too late to hold two or more membership campaigns in the calendar year,” said Mark Hall, chapter lead advisor. “It was encouraging that many established chapters expressed amazement that we accomplished even the first star in the few months we have been active.”

Phi Theta Kappa has a total of five stars that chapters can earn as they grow and meet the organization’s requirements.

“This Star Award is a great start for our new honor society,” said CCCC President Bud Marchant. 

In addition, Hall and chapter co-advisor Mike Neal each received Phi Theta Kappa Horizon Awards. These are presented to new advisors who participate in regional and international programs and senior advisors who have attained new levels of achievement in the organization’s programs.

Hall and Neal accompanied eight of the college chapter’s members to the Convention: Walter Harrison and Wendy Champion, of Chatham County; Cheryl Reynolds and Dana Stone, of Harnett County; and Samantha Taylor, Vernon Tolliver, Monique Pardo and Shirley Rijkse, of Lee County. 
CCCC had its own honor society, Alpha Theta Tau, from 1986 until the establishment of the Phi Theta Kappa chapter. When he became college president in 2008, Marchant recommended that CCCC become a part of the international honor society because of the enrichment it provides to high-achieving students through conferences, conventions, competitions, leadership training, and scholarship opportunities. Fifty-five students were inducted when the chapter was established. To join, students must have completed at least 12 credit hours and have a 3.7 (out of 4.0) grade point average.